Jury


KR

Ahn Sang-soo

Typographer Prof. Ahn Sang-soo

Typographer
Prof. Ahn Sang-soo

Prof. Ahn Sang-soo is a graphic designer and typographer from South Korea. Not only in Korea is he famous for the modernization of the Korean alphabet. He reduced the 11,172 possible character combinations of the traditional alphabet to 67. That provided the basis for the trans-formation of the traditional Hangulzeichen for digital communication.

Ahn Sang-soo can look back on a diverse career today. Since 1991 he has been Professor at Hongik University in Seoul where he ten years earlier even graduated. In 1988 he founded the magazine Bogoseo / Bogoseo which he publishes today. He has also written several books and translated, for example, Typographische Gestaltung of Jan Tschichold into Korean. He has given lectures around the world, got many prices, founded the Paju Typograpy Institute, and was vice-president of the International Council of Graphic Design. With his designs Anh Sang-soo always tries to build bridges with like-minded people around the world.

-
DE

Prof. Barbara Schmidt

Prof. Barbara Schmidt

Designer with focus on porcelain
Prof. Barbara Schmidt

Barbara Schmidt studied at the Art Academy Burg Giebichenstein Halle and the Aalto University Helsinki.
After graduating in 1991 she was responsible for the successful realignment of KAHLA porcelain factories in the turbulent years of german reunification.
During many stays abroad, like in Japan, Hun-gary and the Netherlands she deepened her knowledge of ceramics. After teaching at various universities for example Weißensee Kunsthoch-schule Berlin, the Academy of Fine Arts of Ham-burg and the University of the Arts Berlin, she is - since October 2013 - Professor of Experimental Design at the Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Her work has been exhibited internationally and has been awarded more than 40 design awards.

-
DE

Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer

Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer

sociologist and social psychologist
Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer

Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer is a sociologist and social psychologist. Co-founder and director of Futur Zwei. Stiftung Zukunftsfähigkeit - a foundation for future viability.
He is a permanent guest professor of social psychology at the University of St. Gallen, Member of the Council for Sustainable Development of the Federal Government and the Future Council of Schleswig-Holstein and, not least, Professor of Transformation Design at the University of Flensburg.

As once the Bauhaus helped shape a transfor-mation process in a modern world, today in view of climate change and dwindling resources, it is about shaping the change for future viability.

-
DE

Jan Mammey

Jan Mammey in studio

Photographer
Jan Mammey

Jan Mammey studied at the State Academy of Photographic Design in Munich and at the
Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig. After his graduation he was a master student of Heidi Specker. He was a fellow of the Cultural Foun-dation of the Free State of Saxony, the MacDowell Colony, New Hampshire and the Blue Mountain Center, New York. Works by him are et al in the Collection of the Fotomuseum Winterthur and the State Art Collections Dresden.

In 2013 he won the grand prize at the 5th International Marianne Brandt Contest in the photography category.

-
D

Portrait Renate Flagmeier

Curator
Renate Flagmeier

Renate Flagmeier is senior curator at the Museum of Things - Werkbund Archive in Berlin.
In her curatorial work she is, among other things, currently working on the contexts of culture and industry in modern times and the subject of goods and consumer culture. Her work is informed by a social history of art and feminist art history.

The Museum of Things is a museum of product culture of the 20th and 21st century. Historical core of the institution is the archive of the Deutscher Werkbund, an association between art and industry, who in 1907 advocated for a contemporary design and for criteria for quality in the design and production of everyday goods.

-
US | DE

Zeitguised

zeitguised

geist.xyz

Zeitguised is an award winning studio of artists, designers and technologists providing consultancy for synthetic art and design with inhouse creative direction and production.

The studio was established in 2001 by german architect Henrik Mauler and american sculptor and fashion artist Jamie Raap with the interest to explore the zone between imagination, virtual construction and realism.
The exquisite realities of Zeitguised are crafted as a unique blend of tantalizing design, acute art, handmade algorithms and bespoke generative processes.

Shapes, colours, movements realize themselves as autonomous life forms, behave like apparitions in an artificial choreography, with movements that are imaginary yet familiar.

Jury

-
KR

Ahn Sang-soo

Ahn Sang-soo

Typograf
Prof. Ahn Sang-soo

Prof. Ahn Sang-soo ist ein Grafikdesigner und Typograph aus Südkorea. Nicht nur in seinem Heimatland ist er berühmt für die Modernisierung des koreanischen Alphabets. Er reduzierte die 11.172 möglichen Zeichenkombinationen des traditionellen Alphabets auf 67. Damit legte er nicht zuletzt die Grundlage für die Überführung der traditionellen Hangulzeichen in die digitale Kommunikation.

Ahn Sang-soo kann heute auf eine viel-fältige Karriere zurückblicken. Seit 1991 ist er Professor an der Hongik Universität in Seoul an der er zehn Jahre zuvor selbst seinen Abschluss machte. Bereits 1988 gründete er die Zeitschrift Bogoseo/Bogoseo, die er bis heute herausgibt. Außerdem hat er mehrere Bücher geschrieben und zum Beispiel Typographische Gestaltung von Jan Tschichold ins Koreanische übersetzt. Er hat auf der ganzen Welt Vorlesungen gehalten, Preise bekommen, das Paju Typograpy Institute gegrün-det, und war Vizepräsident des International Council of Graphic Design. Mit seiner Gestaltung versucht Anh Sang-soo immer Brücken zu Gleich-gesinnten auf der ganzen Welt zu schlagen.

-
DE

Prof. Barbara Schmidt

Prof. Barbara Schmidt

Designerin mit Schwerpunkt Porzellan
Prof. Barbara Schmidt

Barbara Schmidt studierte an der Kunsthochschule Burg Giebichenstein Halle und der Aalto University Helsinki.
Nach ihrem Abschluss 1991 war sie in den turbu-lenten Wendejahren mitverantwortlich für die erfolgreiche Neuausrichtung der Porzellanwerke KAHLA.
Bei vielen Auslandsaufenthalten unter anderem in Japan, Ungarn und den Niederlanden vertiefte sie ihre Keramikkenntnisse. Nach Lehrtätigkeiten an verschiedenen Hochschulen, z. B. Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin, der Hochschule für Bil-dende Künste Hamburg und der Universität der Künste Berlin ist sie seit Oktober 2013 Professorin für Experimentelles Design an der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Ihre Arbeiten werden international ausgestellt und sind mit über 40 Designpreisen ausgezeichnet worden.


DE

Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer

Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer

Soziologe und Sozialpsychologe
Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer

Prof. Dr. Harald Welzer ist Soziologe und Sozialpsychologe.
Er ist Mitbegründer und Direktor von „Futur Zwei. Stiftung Zukunftsfähigkeit“, ständiger Gastpro-fessor für Sozialpsychologie an der Universität Sankt Gallen, Mitglied im Rat für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Bundesregierung sowie im Zukunftsrat des Landes Schleswig-Holstein und nicht zuletzt Professor für Transformationsdesign und –vermittlung an der Universität Flensburg.

Wie einst das Bauhaus einen Transformations-prozess in eine moderne Welt mitgestaltet hat, so geht es angesichts des Klimawandels und schwindender Ressourcen darum, den Veränderungsprozess zukunftsfähig zu gestalten.

-
DE

Jan Mammey

Portrait im Studio Jan Mammey

Fotograf
Jan Mammey

Jan Mammey studierte an der Staatlichen Fach-akademie für Fotodesign München und an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig. Nach seinem Diplom war er Meisterschüler von Heidi Specker. Er war Stipendiat der Kultur-stiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, der MacDowell Colony, New Hampshire und des Blue Mountain Center, New York. Werke von ihm befinden sich u.a. in der Sammlung des Fotomuseum Winterthur und der Staatlichen Kunstsammlung Dresden.
Im Jahr 2013 gewann er den Hauptpreis beim
5. Internationalen Marianne Brandt Wettbewerb in der Kategorie Fotografie.

-
D

Renate Flagmeier

Portrait Renate Flagmeier

Kuratorin
Renate Flagmeier

Renate Flagmeier ist leitende Kuratorin im Museum der Dinge - Werkbundarchiv in Berlin.
In ihrer kuratorischen Arbeit arbeitet sie aktuell unter anderem an den Zusammenhängen von Kultur und Industrie in der Moderne und dem Thema Waren- und Konsumkultur.
Geprägt wurde sie durch eine Sozialgeschichte der Kunst und eine feministische Kunstgeschichte.

Das Museum der Dinge ist ein Museum der Produktkultur des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Historischer Kern der Institution ist das Archiv des Deutschen Werkbunds, ein Interessenverband zwischen Kunst und Industrie, der sich ab 1907 für ein zeitgemäßes Design und für Qualitäts-kriterien im Entwurf und in der Produktion alltäglicher Güter einsetzte.

-
US | DE

Zeitguised

zeitguised

geist.xyz

Zeitguised ist ein preisgekröntes Digital Art Studio, das 2001 von dem deutschen Architekten Henrik Mauler und der amerikanischen Bildhauerin und Modekünstlerin Jamie Raap mit dem Interesse gegründet wurde, den Bereich zwischen Imagination, virtueller Konstruktion und Realismus zu explorieren.

Die erlesenen Realitäten die Zeitguised modelliert, sind eine Verbindung aus verführerischem Design, gegenwartsnaher Kunst, handgefertigten Algorithmen und maßgeschneiderten generativen Verfahren.

Formen, Farben, Bewegungen verwirklichen sich selbst als autonome Lebensformen, verhalten sich wie Geistererscheinungen in einer künstlichen Choreographie, in Bewegungen, die fantastisch aber doch vertraut anmuten.